Biography in Context
Seeking biographical information about an artist? Look toward Biography in Context!
Biography in Context "is a comprehensive database of biographical information on over 340,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines more than 435,000 biographies from over 1,000 volumes of more than 135 respected Gale sources."
Simply type in the artist's name in the search box and your discovery of begins!
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a selected collection "of encyclopedias, ... and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research." For a current title list of our offerings, see the List of Sources once you are in the collection. You can search all of our ebooks here simultaneously.
How To Use This Subject Guide
The purpose of this guide is to introduce useful research materials for Art (Ceramics, Crafts, Dance, Graphic Design, Museums and Photography) selected and reviewed by Montgomery College librarians. It is not a comprehensive bibiliography of resources for this subject. Instead, it is designed to introduce art history researchers and practicing studio artists to categories of materials that are often useful in research, and provide guidance for locating those materials.
You are encouraged to ask a reference librarian for help with your specific research question.
Credo Reference: Art
This database includes biographical dictionaries, insight into origins of artists, tightly focused data on theorectical concepts in art and art history, detail infomation on art as it relates to various cultures and much more!
If you are on a quest for current of historical information in newspapers, look no further...ProQuest is here to help!
This database is a full text, cross searchable database of the newspaper collections of the Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. See also: Historical New York Times and Historical Washington Post.