An electronic version of the 9th edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.It also includes Research Updates to trends and developments in science and technology, biographies of scientists, late breaking news, links to evaluated web sites, images and learning resources and study guides by topic.
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
A selected collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. For a current title list of our offerings, see the List of Sources once you are in the collection. These titles are also accessible through ouronline catalog.
This is an online tool that enables you to search all of MC Libraries' encyclopedias, print and electronic, simultaneously. Remember to put a checkmark in the box labeled "Display All Reference Universe Works."
An Atlas of the Universe, a Web site often recommended by college instructors and librarians, consists of a series of interactive 3-D maps of the universe. The smallest shows stars within 12.5 light years of the sun; each subsequent map expands until the limit of the universe is reached. Below each map are additional maps and links to relevant data, catalogs, etc. The multilevel design offers a potent learning tool for students of astronomy, who can focus on a single scale and begin to grasp the universe in terms of orders of magnitude. This function is an improvement upon physical models of the universe. More virtual resources can be found using the links, which pull together disparate map-related Web sites. The site also contains a selected glossary of terms. An Atlas of the Universe compares favorably with other interactive programs. Comparable print sources, such as star charts or textbooks, offer better illustrations but no similar conceptual tool.