This collection brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazines along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos. This Virtual Library includes: National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994; National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1995-Current; National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World; and National Geographic Kids.
Material about geology and earth sciences, including maps and discussions of a wide variety of topics. Includes geologic maps of each state. Created and maintained by a geology professor from Mansfield University (retired).
Brief description and a map of the Pacific Northwest's prehistoric Missoula Floods. The institute, based in Moses Lake, Washington state, is "a non-profit organization of citizens throughout Montana, Idaho, Washington, and Oregon who are committed to tell
Sponsored by the journal Nature, this site contains streaming video of scientists discussing their research. Topics include brain function, evolution, physics, etc. These videos can also be viewed on Natures' YouTube channel.
PLoS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature freely available to the public. PLoS journals include PLoS Biology, PLos Genetics, etc.
"Searchable archive of earthquake data for research in seismology and earthquake engineering." Sponsored by the Southern California Earthquake Center (SCEC), U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), and California Institute of Technology.
Collaborative effort of the USGS and the National Parks Services. Provides information in easy to understand language about geologic maps, plate tectonics, rocks and minerals, geologic time, geomorphic provinces, sand dunes, caves, and coasts.
USGS site provides a searchable catalog of paper and digital maps, geologic names, and new mapping projects. Included is "information about maps and related data for: geology, hazards, earth resources, geophysics, geochemistry, etc.
From Univ. of Illinois. A collection of on-line meteorology guides that include modules for light and optics, clouds and precipitation, forces and winds, air masses and fronts, weather forecasting, severe storms, hurricanes, El Niño, and the hydrologic c