Music Databases
African American Song is the first online resource to document the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, and folk songs, as well as narratives.
American Song contains historical songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. At present, this release includes 763 albums, equaling 12,542 tracks.
Contains photographs of musical instruments, historical photographs of jazz musicians, and images inspired by music and musicians.
Classical Music Library is a searchable database of classical recordings. It includes tens of thousands of licensed recordings that users can listen to on the Internet. The audio selections are cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information. You can browse, search, click, and then listen to the music over the Internet. If a score is available in the database Classical Music Scores, below, you will be able to see the score and hear the recording simultaneously.
Contains 800 scores or 25,000 pages of copyrighted material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series. Forty-nine composers' works include Aaron Copland, Benjamin Britten, Igor Stravinsky, and Ned Rorem. Contains 16 full operas, seven oratorios, 50 string quartets, 27 symphonies, and 60 concertos.
CREDO Reference Music Dictionaries
The Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music, The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music, The Harvard Dictionary of Music, and The New Penguin Dictionary of Music.
Contains the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., the standard reference work for music, comprising 27 volumes in print. Also contains The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (published in print in 1992 and online in 1999) and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd. ed. (2001). Through a partnership with Sibelius notation software, over 500 of Grove's musical examples are now available in sound as well as notated examples.
Smithsonian Global Sound includes the published recordings of the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.
Off-Campus Access
You will need to log in when you access an MC database from off-campus.
Enter your M number in the box provided. (MC students, faculty, & staff only)
Navigating Music Resources
Click on the tabs above to see these other music resources:
Music: printed scores, CDs and DVDs in the library
Books: books on music by campus
Music journals
Music Web sites
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait