Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Music  Tags: music music_scores cds music_journals music_links jazz opera rock  

This guide will provide information and Library resources for the study of music.
Last update: Aug 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.montgomerycollege.edu/Music  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Music Web Sites             Print Page
  
 

Music - All Genres

Free Sheet Music - http://www.8notes.com/
Online archive of sheet music for many different instruments.

Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music - http://levysheetmusic.mse.jhu.edu/
An online collection of American sheet music, chiefly from 1780 to 1960.

Lyrics Search Engine - http://lyrics.astraweb.com/
Contains a large number of popular song lyrics.

Music Resources on the World Wide Web - http://www.library.yale.edu/musiclib/webres.htm
From the Yale University Music Library, this extensive list of links covers all kinds of music from Canadian to Wedding music.

Musictheory.net - http://www.musictheory.net/
A collection of music theory tutorials. The site includes interactive exercises for keyboard, guitar, brass and ear.

Scroll down to see Web links for additional categories:
Classical Music, Instrumental
Classical Music, Vocal and Opera
Folk Music and World Music
Jazz and Blues
Pop Music and Rock

 

Classical Music

Classical Music, Instrumental

Andante Magazine - http://www.andante.com/magazine/index.cfm
An online classical music magazine. Includes reviews of recordings and performances as well as essays on musical topics.

Brass Instruments - http://bubl.ac.uk/link/b/brassinstruments.htm
Useful links to information about the brass instruments.

Classical Music in the Yahoo Directory - http://dir.yahoo.com/Entertainment/music/genres/classical/
Yahoo's extensive list of Classical music links.

Classical Music Resources -
http://www.lib.duke.edu/dw3/SPT--BrowseResources.php?ParentId=177
A large collection of classical music resources from Duke University Library.

Classical.Net - http://classical.net/
Massive amount of information on composers, their works, musicians and reviews of CDs.

Essentials of Music - http://www.essentialsofmusic.com/
This site provides a brief outline of the history of Western music from the Middle Ages to the 20th Century. Brief biographies of composers can be found there as well as excerpts of significant music.

Keyboard and Percussion Instruments - http://bubl.ac.uk/link/linkbrowse.cfm?menuid=10181
A list of links to information about keyboard and percussion instruments.

Music History 102 - http://www.ipl.org/div/mushist/
This page covers Western music history from the Middle Ages to the present.

Music Library Online Resources - http://www.lib.virginia.edu/MusicLib/resources/composers.html
Arranged by composer's name, this site from the University of Virginia is an excellent directory of Web information about composers.

Musictheory.net - http://www.musictheory.net/
A collection of music theory tutorials. The site includes interactive exercises for keyboard, guitar, brass and ear.

Musicweb International.com - http://www.musicweb.uk.net/
Premiere classical CD review Web site.

The Piano Page - http://www.ptg.org/
Information for pianists, teachers and technicians.

Stringed Instruments - http://bubl.ac.uk/link/linkbrowse.cfm?menuid=10182
List of links to information about stringed instruments.

Viola Jokes - http://web.mit.edu/jcb/www/viola-jokes.html
Canonical list of jokes about the instrument that gets no respect.

Violin Online - http://www.violinonline.com/
Includes information about violin basics, exercises and scales and an online listening library.

Wind Instruments - http://bubl.ac.uk/link/linkbrowse.cfm?menuid=10183
List of links to information about wind instruments.

Classical Music, Vocal: Opera and Choral

Aria Database - http://www.aria-database.com/
Searchable by title, opera or composer. Includes lyrics in the original language of the opera and some English translations. The site has links to recordings and sheet music for sale.

Choral Public Domain Library - http://www.cpdl.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page
A large collection of public domain choral sheet music.

The Lied and Art Song Texts Page - http://www.recmusic.org/lieder/
An archive of texts used in Lieder and Art Songs, choral works and other classical vocal pieces. Many are translated into several languages.

Opera Glass - http://opera.stanford.edu/main.html
Excellent information about operas, composers, plot summaries, role creators etc.

Opera Resources on the World Wide Web - http://opera.stanford.edu/links.html
An extensive list of links to opera composers, libretti, reviews and magazines.

 Scroll down to see links in Folk Music and World Music, Jazz and Blues, and Pop Music and Rock 

 

Folk Music and World Music

African Music Encyclopedia - http://africanmusic.org/
Browse this source by artist or country, or search it.

Ethnomusicology Online - http://research.umbc.edu/eol/eol.html
UMBC's guide to World music.

Folk Music of England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales and America - http://www.contemplator.com/folk.html
Includes lyrics, sound files tune information and history of folk music.

LaMusica.com - http://www.lamusica.com/
Good coverage of Latin music. In English and Spanish.

Pathfinder for World Music - http://www.ecpl.lib.oh.us/musicpathfinder.htm
Brief but useful list of world music Web pages.

Smithsonian Global Sound - http://www.smithsonianglobalsound.org/
The wonderful Smithsonian collection of world music is now available online. Samples are free, downloads are $.99 each. Sorry, the college cannot absorb the cost of the downloads.

World Music at Rootsworld - http://www.rootsworld.com/rw/
An online Roots and World Music magazine.

Scroll down to see links in Jazz and Blues, and Pop Music and Rock

 

Jazz and Blues

Academic Info History of Jazz - http://www.academicinfo.net/musicjazz.html
Scroll past the commercial links in the blue box and you will find helpful links about Jazz history.

All About Jazz - http://www.allaboutjazz.com/
Good coverage of contemporary and historical jazz.

Blues - http://blues.about.com/
About.com's Blues site.

Jazz - http://jazz.about.com/
About.com's Jazz page. It has good basic information.

Jazz Improvisation Primer - http://www.outsideshore.com/primer/primer/
An online improvisation textbook.

Scroll down to see links in Pop Music and Rock 

 

Pop Music and Rock

All Music - http://www.allmusic.com/
Covers all types of popular music.

All Songs Considered - http://www.npr.org/programs/asc/
Covers contemporary music really well and does a good job of presenting the popular music of the moment.

Guitar Noise - http://www.guitarnoise.com/
Free online guitar instructions for beginners and intermediates. Includes a great deal of information on tablature and reading music.

Magnet Magazine - http://www.magnetmagazine.com/
Excellent reviews and interviews.

Mojam Concert Search - http://www.mojam.com/
Search for concert dates by artist, city or venue.

Pitchfork Media - http://www.pitchforkmedia.com/
Excellent source for alternative/independent music reviews.

Rap/Hip Hop - http://rap.about.com/
An outstanding guide to this music genre.

Rapmusic.com - http://rapmusic.com/rapmusic/
Fairly comprehensive coverage of rap music.

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame - http://www.rockhall.com/home/
Most useful for its biographies of inductees and timeline.

Rock History at IU - http://www.music.indiana.edu/som/courses/rock/
Scroll down the page and you will find a list of links to several courses taught at Indiana University that cover the history of Rock and Roll. Each link leads you to a syllabus of a course; each syllabus contains many useful Web links.

Rolling Stone - http://www.rollingstone.com/
Online version of Rolling Stone magazine.

Trouser Press - http://www.trouserpress.com/
They call themselves "the Bible of alternative rock."

Yahoo Entertainment: Music - http://dir.yahoo.com/Entertainment/Music/
Yahoo's extensive list of popular music links.

 

Attribution

Annotated list of music links by subject created by Linda Fortney, Rockville librarian, 1950 - 2009

 
 

Web Site Categories

Scroll down to see other Music Web Site Categories:

Classical Music

Instrumental
Vocal: Choral and Opera

Folk Music and World Music

Jazz and Blues

Pop Music and Rock

 

Navigating Music Resources

Click on the tabs above to see other Music Resources in these categories:

Music: printed scores, CDs and DVDs in the library

Books

Music journals

Music databases

Music Web sites

Music Department

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait