Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Chemistry  Tags: chemistry  

Research guide for chemistry students
Last update: Nov 02nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.montgomerycollege.edu/chemistry  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles, Journals, Databases            Print Page
  
 

Periodicals

Why choose periodicals?

Journals logo

Periodicals  (journals, magazines, and newspapers)  are published in regular intervals, and are the best sources for current information to support research. They are found in print or in databases.

MC Libraries organize their databases in two ways: 

Databases by Subject: Boxes contain databases by type of resource (i.e. encyclopedia, newspaper, etc.) or by the subject the database covers.  For broad research, start with the first 5 databases listed. This is the best portal to use if you are not sure which database to search.

A to Z List of Databases: Lists all the library's databases in alphabetical order. If you want to browse the databases or already have a favorite database and want to link to it, access them from this portal.

 

Databases: Journal & Magazine Articles

  • Full Text Chemistry Journals  
    This link will provide a list of the full text chemistry journals available through MC library databases and print holdings.
  • Merck Index  
    "The Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related co
  • Environment Complete  
    Offers coverage in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law.
  • Nature  
    This is the online edition of the weekly international science journal and has archives going back to 1950.
  • Science  
    Online access to the journal Science with articles dating back to 1997.
  • Science Direct  
    ScienceDirect indexes more than 7 million journal articles in the sciences and applied sciences. Through the MDL consortium, we have access to the full text of many of these articles through a shared title list.
  • Science Resource Center  
    This database includes "thousands of topic overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations...and the latest scientific developments...covered in articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites."
  • Academic Search Complete  
    This is a very large collection of articles and other media that covers a range of topics.
  • Academic OneFile  
    Another very large database that covers a wide range of topics, including chemistry and related subjects.
  • ALL MONTGOMERY COLLEGE DATABASES  
    The complete list of subscription databases available to Montgomery College students.
 
 

Search Tips: Articles

 

When searching for articles, construct a Boolean Search expression using these components:

  • keywords, the nouns that describe your topic
  • Boolean operators, (AND, OR)
  • quotation marks for phrases
  • parentheses for OR statements

Here are some examples:

chemistry AND cancer
"chesapeake bay" AND nitrogen
"chemical notation" 
"brain chemistry" OR neurochemistry

Off-Campus Access

You will be asked to log in if you are searching from off campus.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait