Reference Books
Why choose a reference book?
Reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, atlases) give concise introductions to topics. Use them to:
- explore topics for research;
- get background information;
- explain unfamiliar ideas.
They are available at MC Libraries in both print and electronic formats.
Search Tips: Encyclopedias
When searching for articles in an online encyclopedia, simply type in your topic. Here are some examples:
- matrix theory
- ring theory
- algebra
- discriminant
- exponent
E-reference Resources

E-reference resources allow you to access encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources from any computer.
(Move the cursor over the links to see a description of the selected resource. Authentication required when not accessed at the library.)
Print Reference
The following sources are general works in mathematics, available in the Reference area of the campus libraries.
- A to Z of mathematicians
- Words of mathematics : an etymological dictionary of mathematical terms used in English
- Concise Oxford dictionary of mathematics
- CRC handbook of mathematical sciences
- Encyclopedic dictionary of mathematics
- Engineering mathematics handbook
- Encyclopedia of mathematics
- History of modern science and mathematics
- Great jobs for math majors
- Cambridge dictionary of statistics
E-books & Authentication
The MC Libraries collection includes e-books. Like the print books, they can be discovered by searching the MC Library Catalog.
At the Remote Database User Authentication page, use your M#, located on your Montgomery College I.D. card as a login. Enter the entire number, including the M.
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait