Reference Books
Why choose a reference book?
Reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, atlases) give concise introductions to topics. Use them to:
- explore topics for research;
- get background information;
- explain unfamiliar ideas.
They are available at MC Libraries in both print and electronic formats.
Search Tips: Encyclopedias
When searching for articles in an online encyclopedia, simply type in your topic. Here are some examples:
- mechanical engineering
- engineering methods
- nanotechnology
- electrical engineering
- nuclear engineering
- fission
E-reference Resources

E-reference resources allow you to access encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other sources from any computer.
(Move the cursor over the links to see a description of the selected resource. Authentication required when not accessed at the library.)
Print Reference
The following sources are reference works in engineering, available in the Reference area of the campus libraries.
- Biographical dictionary of people in engineering : from the earliest records until 2000
- Building the world : an encyclopedia of the great engineering projects in history
- Electrical engineering : a pocket reference
- Engineering mathematics handbook
- Macmillan encyclopedia of energy
- Materials handbook : a concise desktop reference
- McGraw-Hill concise encyclopedia of engineering.
Authentication
The MC Libraries' e-reference collection requires proof that you are a current student, faculty, or staff member.
At the Remote Database User Authentication page, use your M#, located on your Montgomery College I.D. card as a login. Enter the entire number, including the M.
Engineering Reference Books
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait