Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Photography  Tags: photography  

This guide will provide information and Library resources for the study of photography.
Last update: Aug 27th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.montgomerycollege.edu/photography  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles, Databases, Journals            Print Page
  
 

Off-Campus Access

You do not have to do all your research in the library!

Go to our website to access databases from any computer.

You will need to use your M#, located on your student I.D. card as a login. Enter the entire number, including the M, when prompted.

 

Database Search Tips

Here are some tips to remember when searching databases for articles:

  • Try different combinations of words and phrases; use Boolean operators (and / or). Your topic might be filed under a term other than the one you use.
  • Use limiters to get a list that fits your search criteria better.
  • Click on the full-text button to get only fulltext results.
  • Take a look at the subject terms on articles you like. Use them to link to articles classified under the same heading.
  • Don't forget to get the citation information for your bibliography.
 
 

Find Articles: Databases

Oxford Art Online  (formerly Grove Art)    Good source for basic information about aesthetics, art terms and styles, biographies and historical periods.

Academic One File  (Gale)  A very large collection of articles similar to Academic Search but with some different content and different lengths of coverage.
 
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)  Another very large collection of articles that covers a wide range of topics. It includes many art magazines such as Art Bulletin, Art in America, American Art, Art History and Art Journal.

Communication & Mass Media  

JSTOR        Please note - this is an archive of older issues - use the other databases for recent resources. Contains fulltext of important scholarly journals on art, including Art Bulletin, Art Journal, American Art Journal, Burlington Magazine, Journal of Design History, October, and Oxford Art Journal from the first issue until 3 to 5 years ago.

Project Muse     Ptovides fulltext of over 300 scholarly humanities, arts and social science journals. 

Sage Journals Online     over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

Want to try finding information in other databases? Click here to access all of Montgomery College Library's Databases by Subject
 

Art Images

 

ARTstor  is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities,photopgrahy and the social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching.

You can create your own image library using Artstor, add your own notes, and share the group with other users.  It makes a great study tool for exams.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageKate Cooper
Contact Info:
Art Library at the Cafritz Center
240-567-5812 / 5813
Send Email

Subjects:
Art, Art History, Graphic Design

 

Art @ MC

The Arts Institute @ Montgomery College

Art Department , Germantown

Art Department , Rockville

Communication Arts Technologies , Rockville

Computer Graphics , Germantown

School of Art & Design , Takoma Park / Silver Spring

Visual Arts , Takoma Park / Silver Spring

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait