Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Photography  Tags: photography  

This guide will provide information and Library resources for the study of photography.
Last update: Aug 27th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.montgomerycollege.edu/photography  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Websites            Print Page
  
 

Online Photo Collections

AP Images   M   The Associated Press Photo Archive contains selections of pictures from their 50 million image library

Artstor   M  A digital library of over a million images in art, architecture, the humanities and social sciences with tools to view, organize, present and save your own images sets.  Great resource to share with your Art History study group!

American Memory, Library of Congress. More than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical Library of Congress collections. The primary source and archival materials relating in the project cover topics from art and architecture to performing arts to technology and applied sciences. 

British Library Images Online

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs

Life Magazine Photo Archive hosted by Google

George Eastman House Photography Collections Online

National Geographic : History Of Photography - features a timeline, Photo Gallery and more.

NYPL Digital Gallery  Provides access to over 640,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.

Smithsonian Photography Initiative

Time Life Images  content from the finest photojournalists, documenting past and present political and cultural events, as well as celebrities and the American experience.

 

Web resources on Photography

American Museum of Photography. 5,000 images from daguerreotype portraits to Ansel Adams

American Photography: a century of images  A well-maintained PBS site with with interactive features.

Art History Resources on the Web: Photography

California Museum of Photography

History of Photography: from its beginnings to the 1920s by the form education officer of the Royal Photographic Society

PhotoForum List's List of Photo Web sites fairly comprehensive list of resources from RIT, includes links to academic programs, workshops, etc.

Photograph    the bi-monthly USA guide to photo-based art with listings of exhibitions, private dealers, resources, and websites. There are also columns, a calendar of events, and illustrated advertising from galleries, museums, dealers, auctions houses and photographers.

Shutterbug   the website for this print magazine inlcudes online content such as product reviews, technical tips and photo galleries

Voice of the Shuttle: Photography page

 

 

Web resources on Photographers

Daguerreotypes Portraits and Views 1839-1864: America's First Look Into the Camera    Daguerreotypes produced by Mathew Brady's studio are a major portion of this LOC collection.

Mathew Brady's Portraits: Images as History, Photography as Art    "A comprehensive look at Brady's remarkable career"; 1845-1896. (National Portrait Gallery)

Henri Cartier-Bresson: Tête à Tête     An artist and photojournalist, he is "best known as the photographer who first captured the 'decisive moment' on film in the 1930s." National Portrait Gallery

Philippe Halsman: A Retrospective      "Philippe Halsman photographed for Life magazine from the 1940s through the 1970s, achieving a body of work that includes [more covers] than any other photographer." (National Portrait Gallery)

Hans Namuth: Portraits    "The first full exploration of Namuth's life and work, and the first time the Portrait Gallery's collection of his photographs has been on view in its entirety." (National Portrait Gallery)

CHIM: The Photographs of David Seymour    (International Center of Photography)

Carl Van Vechten: Creative Americans    Nearly 1,400 portraits of celebrities, including many figures from the Harlem Renaissance. (Library of Congress)

Augustus Washington: A Durable Memento     "Portraits by Augustus Washington, African American Daguerreotypist. One of only a handful of African American daguerreotypists whose work has been identified and collected, and whose career has been documented." (National Portrait Gallery)

Weegee's World      "Weegee's work is best known for his tabloid news photographs of urban crowds, crime scenes, and New York City night life": this archive contains over 13,000 original prints and corresponding negatives, tear sheets, manuscript drafts, correspondence, clippings, and other personal memorabilia. (International Center of Photography)

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageKate Cooper
Contact Info:
Art Library at the Cafritz Center
240-567-5812 / 5813
Send Email

Subjects:
Art, Art History, Graphic Design

 

Art @ MC

The Arts Institute @ Montgomery College

Art Department , Germantown

Art Department , Rockville

Communication Arts Technologies , Rockville

Computer Graphics , Germantown

School of Art & Design , Takoma Park / Silver Spring

Visual Arts , Takoma Park / Silver Spring

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait