This is the "Directories" page of the "Directories" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directories   Tags: directories, encyclopedia_of_associations  

Last Updated: Aug 7, 2012 URL: http://libguides.montgomerycollege.edu/directories Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Directories Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off Campus Access

Off-campus access to online databases and e-books is available to current Montgomery College students, faculty, & staff. You will be asked to log in with your M number.  

Remote Login & Troubleshooting

 

Why use a Directory?

A directory is an alphabetical or classified listing of names, addresses, etc.  A directory is useful:

  • for finding and verifying contact information
  • for finding organizations by type or subject
  • for identifying key officers of an organization

Recommended Databases


Make sure to click on the View All link to see all of the directories/resources available through the Gale Directory Library.  The most well-known of the titles are the Encyclopedia of Associations, both US and International.
 

Other Directories

  Some selected e-book directories.

Cover Art
Washington Information Directory - CQ Press
ISBN: 1604269979
Provides "contact and descriptive information on more than 10,000 federal government offices, regulatory agencies, congressional committees, judicial offices, public interest groups, nongovernmental organizations, and international organizations" (CQ Press description).

Writer's Directory, 27th ed., 2011 - Lisa Kumar, editor
ISBN: 978-1-55862-784-0 EISBN
"Features bibliographical, biographical and contact information for living authors worldwide who have at least one English publication. Entries include name, pseudonyms, addresses, citizenship, birth date, specialization, career information and a bibliography" (description from Gale).

 

Web Directories

Web directories provide information to other web resources by subject/topic.  These are just a few of the many subject directories available on the WWW.

Scholar's Guide to the WWW - compiled by Richard Jensen, Professor of History at University of Illinois.

WWW Virtual Library - "the oldest catalogue of the Web, started by Tim Berners-Lee...in 1991 at CERN in Geneva...it is run by...volunteers who compile pages of key links for particular areas in which they are expert...VL pages are widely recognised as being amongst the highest-quality guides to particular sections of the Web."

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip