This is the "General Reference Collections" page of the "Reference Collections - General" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Reference Collections - General   Tags: reference  

Last Updated: Jun 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.montgomerycollege.edu/reference Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
General Reference Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off Campus Access

Off-campus access to online databases and e-books is available to current Montgomery College students, faculty, & staff. You will be asked to log in with your M number.  

Remote Login & Troubleshooting

 

Why Choose a Reference Book?

reference 

Reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, atlases, etc. give concise introductions to topics or terms.  Use them to:

  • explore topics for research;
  • get background information;
  • explain unfamiliar ideas.

They are available through the MC Libraries in both print and electronic formats.

Recommended Databases


These are large, multidisciplinary collections offering a mix of dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, chonologies and other reference materials.  Some titles are general in nature and others are subject specific.  You can search or browse all of these collections.  In addition, titles can be found through our online catalog, MC Library Catalog.

Also Useful

These databases are useful in the discovery of both reference type resources and resources in general.

WorldCat

A Web interface for WorldCat...also available as a mobile application at http://www.worldcat.org/m/

Related Subjects

See, also, other research subject guides on Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc. from our Databases by Subject & Type categories.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip