Skip to main content

Annotated Bibliography: Home

Annotated Bibliography

The annotated bibliography is a popular assignment at many colleges and universities, including Montgomery College. 

A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) someone has used for researching a topic. Your professor may refer to it as a "References" or "Works Cited" list depending on which style formatting he/she wants you to use.

A bibliography includes only the basic source information such as the author, title, publisher, etc. An annotation, on the other hand, is a brief summary or evaluation of each of the sources listed in the bibliography.

Why write an annotated bibliography

Why is it important? 

It is just as important to write an annotated bibliography as it is to find good sources. When you have to write an annotation, you are forced to read the articles critically and think about why you want to use them. This exercise also allows you to see what research has been done on your topic and what others have been saying about it. In short, by writing an annotated bibliography you are preparing for your research project.

How is it written?

The annotations for each source are written in paragraph form. The lengths of the annotations can vary significantly from a couple of sentences to a couple of pages. Your professor can provide specific guidelines about what to include. 

More information on Annotated Bibliography

Ask the MC Library

https://library.montgomerycollege.edu

Germantown Campus Library Rockville Campus Library Takoma Park/Silver Spring Campus Library

Humanities and Social Sciences Building 110

240-567-7858

Macklin Tower

240-567-7117

Resource Center 215

240-567-1540