MC Library Research Guides: Communications: Journalism

Get General Information and Overviews on Journalism

The Associated Press Stylebook 2019 by The Associated Press
Call Number: PN4783 .A83 2019

Publication Date: 2019

A fully revised and updated edition of the bible of the newspaper industry. The style of The Associated Press is the gold standard for news writing. With the AP Stylebook in hand, you can learn how to write and edit with the clarity and professionalism for which their writers and editors are famous. The AP Stylebook will help you master the AP's rules on grammar, spelling, punctuation, capitalization, abbreviation, word and numeral usage, and when to use "more than" instead of "over." To make navigating these specialty chapters even easier, the Stylebook includes a comprehensive index. Fully revised and updated to keep pace with world events, common usage, and AP procedures, The AP Stylebook is the one reference that all writers, editors and students cannot afford to be without.
Encyclopedia of Journalism by Christopher H. Sterling
Call Number: PN4728 .E48 2009eb

Covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics.
Historical Dictionary of Journalism by Ross Eaman
Call Number: PN4728 .E37 2009

Publication Date: 2009

This book covers the history of journalism as an institutionalized form of discourse from the acta diurna in ancient Rome to the news aggregators of the 21st century. It traces how journalism gradually distinguished itself from chronicles, history, and the novel in conjunction with the evolution of news media from news pamphlets, newsletters, and newspapers through radio, film, and television to multimedia digital news platforms like Google News.Historical Dictionary of Journalism, Second Edition covers 46 countries, it contains a chronology, an introduction, an extensive bibliography, the dictionary section has more than 300 cross-referenced entries on a wide array of topics such as African-American journalism, the historiography of the field, the New Journalism, and women in journalism. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about journalism.
Journalism by Michael Schudson
Call Number: PN4731 .S2485 2020eb

Publication Date: 2020-03-24

This book challenges journalists to think hard about what they really do. It challenges skeptical news audiences to be mindful not only of media bias but also of their own biases and how these can distort their perception. And it holds out hope that journalism will be for years to come a path for ambitious, curious young people who love words or pictures or numbers and want to use them to improve the public conversation in familiar ways or in ways yet to be imagined.
Journalism : a very short introduction by Ian Hargreaves
Call Number: PN4731

Publication Date: 2014

Journalism: A Very Short Introduction examines the world of contemporary journalism and reflects on the growth of social media, online, and electronic journalism.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Journalism by Gregory A. Borchard (Editor)
ISBN: 1544391153

Publication Date: 2022

Journalism permeates our lives and shapes our thoughts in ways that we have long taken for granted. Whether it is National Public Radio in the morning or the lead story on the Today show, the morning newspaper headlines, up-to-the-minute Internet news, grocery store tabloids, Time magazine in our mailbox, or the nightly news on television, journalism pervades our lives. The Encyclopedia of Journalism covers all significant dimensions of journalism, such as print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; and history, technology, legal issues and court cases, ownership, and economics. The encyclopedia will consist of approximately 500 signed entries from scholars, experts, and journalists, under the direction of lead editor Gregory Borchard of University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

Find Sources for journalism

Databases on Journalism:

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides journal content covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, film studies, and more.
AP Newsroom
Contains breaking news, feature stories, photographs, graphics, and audio clips produced by the AP network of journalists, including millions of historical and contemporary images covering news, sports, and entertainment.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Covers journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.

Newspapers can provide:

information on local, national or international events
in-depth reports on selected current issues
editorials and opinions on issues

When & Why to Use Newspaper Articles:

Newspapers are often the only source of information for events that are so new that they have not yet made it into other print or online sources. Still, some newspapers can display a social or political bias. As with all information, it is good to evaluate the source as well as the information being provided.

Search:

RaptorSearch
Find items located physically at the library along with most content that MC Library subscribes to online. Results may include articles from scholarly journals, books, e-books, videos, newspaper articles, and more.

Research Skills & Tips:

Evaluate Information and Fake News
by Niyati Pandya Last Updated Nov 18, 2025 1395 views this year

Magazine Articles Can Provide:

information in everyday, non-technical language
in-depth reports on selected current issues
editorials and opinions on issues

When & Why to Use Magazine Articles:

Magazine articles share many characteristics in common with newspapers. They can be a good source when you are unfamiliar with a topic and need a general overview. While not produced as frequently as daily newspapers, many magazines are weekly or monthly publications and therefore can provide information on a topic that would not be covered in a peer-reviewed journal article or book until much later. Also like newspapers, magazines and magazine articles can display a social or political bias. As with all information, it is good to evaluate the source as well as the information being provided.

Search:

Flipster
Access popular magazines via the web or your mobile device. Download the Flipster app to your iOS or Android device. Next, choose Montgomery College Rockville Library through the Find My Library search tool. Then, browse and read in the app.

Research Skills & Tips:

Evaluate Information and Fake News
by Niyati Pandya Last Updated Nov 18, 2025 1395 views this year

The MC Library has access to streaming videos and audio (as well as DVDs and CDs). You can find documentaries, educational videos, and mainstream movies.

When & Why to Use Videos:

You need to include an expert's point of view, and a documentary on your topic includes an interview
You are doing a presentation and need to include a visual

Search:

Kanopy
Collection of streaming videos in all genres, from documentaries to feature films to training videos.
RaptorSearch
Find items located physically at the library along with most content that MC Library subscribes to online. Results may include articles from scholarly journals, books, e-books, videos, newspaper articles, and more.

Suggested Websites

JPROF
A website with resources for teachers and students of journalism.
Society of Professional Journalists
This website includes resources for students and teachers, a job bank, information about ethics, and tools for freelancers.

Where Do I Go in the Library?

Books at the MC Library are organized by subject according to the Library of Congress Classification system. Browse the library shelves in these call number areas to find materials relating to journalism.

P87-96	Communication and Mass Media
PN1990-1992	Broadcasting (radio and television)
PN4001-4355	Public Speaking
PN4600-5650	Journalism
TR820	Photojournalism