MC Library Research Guides: Learn About Copyright: Copyright

Is It Protected by Copyright?

Protected: Work of the Visual Arts

Includes: photographs, prints, art reproductions, maps, technical drawings, architectural works

Not Protected: Ideas, Methods, and Systems

Includes: ideas, procedures, systems, concepts, principles, discoveries, and inventions (may be covered by a patent)

Protected: Literary Works

Includes: fiction, nonfiction, poetry, textbooks, advertising copy, and computer programs

Not Protected: Works Not Fixed in a Tangible Form

Examples: a choreographic work or improvisational speech that has not been written down

Protected: Sound Recordings

Includes: recordings of songs and other musical performances

Not Protected: Familiar Symbols and Designs

Includes: letters or symbols on a keyboard, musical notations, arrows, yin yangs, patterns (such as polka dot), and religious symbols

Drawing of the comedy drama theater masks.

Protected: Work of the Performing Arts

Includes: scripts for plays or movies and choreography

Not Protected: Names, Titles, Short Phrases

Includes: names of people or characters, titles, names of businesses or products, slogans (may be covered by a trademark)

Symbol of a film reel with the arrow play icon.

Protected: Motion Picture/Audiovisual Works

Includes: films of all kinds, television shows, videogames, and their accompanying sounds

Copyright Overview

Copyright Definition

According to the US Copyright Office, "copyright is a type of intellectual property that protects original works of authorship as soon as an author fixes the work in a tangible form of expression." Breaking that down further:

"Works are original when they are independently created by a human author." Independent creation means the author created it themselves, without copying.

"A work is fixed when it is captured...in a sufficiently permanent medium such that the work can be perceived, reproduced, or communicated for more than a short time."

Source: U.S. Copyright Office

Becoming a Copyright Owner

Once you create an original work and fix it in a tangible form of expression (e.g., taking a photo, writing a book) you are the copyright owner. This happens automatically, with no action required on the part of the author. It is possible to register your works with the United States Copyright Office, but it is not necessary to do so.

If you create a work as an employee on behalf of an employer, your employer is the copyright owner. For example, if you write a report as part of your job, your employer owns the copyright for that report.

Copyright Owner Rights

Reproduce the work or create derivative works.
Distribute copies of work (including by selling it, such as selling copies of a novel).
Perform or display the work publicly.

Source: U.S. Copyright Office

Public Domain

Public domain refers to works that are not protected by copyright or any other intellectual property protection. Works in the public domain are owned by the general public, so the work can be used by anyone. Works can become part of the public domain in different ways, including the copyright protection expiring or the copyright owner voluntarily putting their work in the public domain.

Is it in the Public Domain?

works published on or before 1929, which includes 1929 as of 2025.
sound recording released on or before 1924, sound recordings are covered by a different law.
works where copyright has expired.
most federal documents.
works where owners give up their rights.
facts, titles, ideas, etc.
freeware or unlicensed software.

Source: U.S. Copyright Office and Center for the Study of the Public Domain