Black History: Academic Resources

From the initial settlement of the Americas to the present day, African American experience encompasses the myriad contributions of individuals from the African American community who have achieved prominence in the arts, entertainment, the sciences, business, the military, and politics as well as nameless others that endured the travails of slavery and institutionalized discrimination. Contains primary documents, peer-reviewed scholarly essays, images, including 1,500 photographs.

Features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. The periodicals in this collection include newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.

Contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans.

Database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contains over 830,000 full-text articles from 240 publications. Covers 1990 to present.

Provides more than 8,000 articles by top scholars in the field. The core content includes Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America, Second Edition; and African American National Biography. In addition to the full-text of these works, the Center draws on other key resources from Oxford's reference program, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, the Oxford Companion to Black British History, and selected articles from other major reference titles.