MC Library Research Guides: Women's and Gender Studies: LGBTQ+

LGBTQ+

Suggested Resources:

CampusPride.org A national LGBT student resource group
Lambda Legal Lambda Legal, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit, is a national organization committed to achieving full recognition of the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and everyone living with HIV through impact litigation, education and public policy work.
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. The LGBT companion document to Healthy People 2010 highlighted the need for more research to document, understand, and address the environmental factors that contribute to health disparities in the LGBT community. As part of this work, we need to increase the number of nationally-representative health-related surveys that collect information on sexual orientation and gender identity (SOGI).
National Center for Transgender Equality: Health & HIV Like anyone, transgender people need preventive care to stay healthy and acute care when they become sick or injured. Some may also need medical care to treat gender dysphoria. Transgender people’s health care is both widely stigmatized and misunderstood. Those unfamiliar with the health needs of transgender people might portray transition-related care as “cosmetic” or a choice. The fact is that the medical necessity of transition-related care is overwhelmingly recognized by medical experts as effective and necessary for many transgender people.
National LGBTQIA+ Health Education Center We provide educational programs, resources, and consultation to health care organizations with the goal of optimizing quality, cost-effective health care for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex, asexual, and all sexual and gender minority (LGBTQIA+) people.
PFLAG PFLAG is the first and largest organization for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ+) people, their parents and families, and allies.

Primary sources are original documents and materials. They may include religious texts, documents relating to a religious institution or organization, letters, diaries, photographs, etc.

Search:

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I, Part II This link opens in a new window
Collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other topical areas.

LGBT Thought and Culture

Suggested Resources:

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual Transgender Historical Society (GLBTHS) The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual Transgender Historical Society (GLBTHS) collects, preserves, and interprets the history of GLBT people and the communities that support them.
ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives The ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives houses the world's largest research library on Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual,and Transgendered heritage and concerns. ONE is affiliated with but not governed by the University of Southern California.

Research Skills & Tips:

MC Library's Primary Sources Tutorial

Search:

LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage for important literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. Offering a variety of scholarly, popular and regional resources, it includes journals, books, magazines and more.

Suggested Resources:

Out in America This critically acclaimed PBS documentary is an uplifting collection of unique, transformative stories and inspiring personal narratives told through the lens of the country's most prominent LGBT figures and pioneers, as well as many average, yet extraordinary, citizens from gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender communities.
Human Rights Campaign (HRC) Working for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Equal Rights
International Lesbian and Gay Association The only worldwide federation campaigning for lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and intersex rights. Since 1978.
National Center for Transgender Equality Dedicated to advancing the equality of transgender people through advocacy, collaboration and empowerment.
Straight for Equality Straight for Equality is a national outreach and education project created by PFLAG National to empower allies in supporting and advocating for gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people by: inviting allies to speak up; educating allies; and engaging allies in the pursuit of equality.

Ask The Library

	Text: 240-654-1728
	Chat with a Librarian
	Book an Appointment
	Call or Visit the Library

View our online service hours.

Montgomery College Resources

MC Pride and Allies
Montgomery College LGBTQ Students, Faculty, Staff, Administrators and Allies
The Safe Zone Project
The Safe Zone Project is a free online resource for powerful, effective LGBTQ awareness and ally training workshops. The College regularly runs Safe Zone training.