MC Library Research Guides: Women's and Gender Studies: Women's Studies

Women's Studies

Search:

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Search journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from hundreds of international, radical, and left-leaning periodicals.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, magazine, and news articles on multidisciplinary topics through the gender lens. Includes femininity, feminism, gender roles and identity, masculinity, religion, sexuality, and workplace issues.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Indexes the core disciplines in women's studies and feminist research. Supports many fields of study, including sociology, history, international relations, and humanities.

Suggested Resources:

But Some of Us Are Brave: Black Women's Studies by Akasha (Gloria T. ) Hull (Editor); Patricia Bell-Scott (Editor); Barbara Smith (Editor); Brittney C. Cooper (Afterword by) Originally published in 1982, All the Women Are White, All the Blacks Are Men, But Some of Us Are Brave: Black Women's Studies is the first comprehensive collection of black feminist scholarship. Featuring contributions from Alice Walker and the Combahee River Collective, this book is vital to today's conversation on race and gender in America. With an afterword from Salon columnist Brittney Cooper. Coeditors Akasha (Gloria T.) Hull, Patricia Bell-Scott, and Barbara Smith are authors and former women's studies professors. Brittney Cooper is an assistant professor of women and gender studies and Africana studies at Rutgers University and a co-founder of the Crunk Feminist Collective.
Feminism Is for Everybody by bell hooks
Call Number: HQ1190 .H67 2000 (RV)
ISBN: 9780896086289
Publication Date: 2000-10-01
Reading Women: How the Great Books of Feminism Changed My Life by Stall, Stephanie
Call Number: HQ1155 .S83 2011
Rockville Circulating Collection
Who Cooked Adam Smith's Dinner? A Story about Women and Economics by Marçal, Katrine
Call Number: HQ1381 .M3613 2016
Location: Germantown Campus Library

Feminist Majority Foundation "The Feminist Majority Foundation (FMF), which was founded in 1987, is a cutting edge organization dedicated to women's equality, reproductive health, and non-violence. In all spheres, FMF utilizes research and action to empower women economically, socially, and politically."
International Women's Day: March 8 "The internationalwomensday.com website was created and is managed by Australian entrepreneur and women's campaigner Glenda Stone as a global hub of IWD events and information."
Ms. Magazine "Ms. was the first U.S. magazine to feature prominent American women demanding the repeal of laws that criminalized abortion, the first to explain and advocate for the ERA, to rate presidential candidates on women's issues, to put domestic violence and sexual harassment on the cover of a women's magazine, to feature feminist protest of pornography, to commission and feature a national study on date rape, and to blow the whistle on the undue influence of advertising on magazine journalism."
National Organization for Women (NOW) "Since its founding in 1966, NOW's goal has been to take action to bring about equality for all women. NOW works to eliminate discrimination and harassment in the workplace, schools, the justice system, and all other sectors of society; secure abortion, birth control and reproductive rights for all women; end all forms of violence against women; eradicate racism, sexism and homophobia; and promote equality and justice in our society."

Primary Sources are original documents and materials. They may include religious texts, documents relating to a religious institution or organization, letters, diaries, photographs, etc.

Search:

Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records 1880-1990 Available through ProQuest Primary Sources collection

Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
Primary sources documenting women's activism in U.S. public life. Includes books, images, pamphlets, scholarly essays, and more, plus publications of state and local women's commissions.

Suggested Resources:

Belmont-Paul Women's Equality National Monument "Home to the National Woman's Party for nearly 90 years, this was the epicenter of the struggle for women's rights. From this house in the shadow of the U.S. Capitol and Supreme Court, Alice Paul and the NWP developed innovative strategies and tactics to advocate for the Equal Rights Amendment and equality for women.:
National Women's History Alliance "The National Women’s History Alliance formerly, the National Women’s History Project, is a leader in promoting Women’s History and is committed to the goals of education, empowerment, equality, and inclusion."
Women at Work during World War II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps Available through ProQuest Primary Sources collection
Women's Liberation Movement Print Culture "The materials in this on-line archival collection document various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, and focus specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s." An on-line archive from the Special Collections Library, Duke University
Women's Rights National Historical Park Site of the first Women's Rights Convention in 1848 in Seneca Falls, New York

Research Skills & Tips:

MC Library's Primary Sources Tutorial

Search:

Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics and current events. Find background information on countries, events and more. Access news, magazine, academic journal articles, statistics, etc.

Suggested Resources:

Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide by Kristof, Nicholas D. and Sheryl WuDunn
Call Number: HQ1236.5 .D44 K75 2009
Unnatural Selection: Choosing Boys Over Girls, and the Consequences of a World Full of Men by Hvistendahl, Mara
Call Number: HB1064 .A3 H87 2011
Germantown Circulating Collection
The War of the Sexes by Paul Seabright As countless love songs, movies, and self-help books attest, men and women have long sought different things. The result? Seemingly inevitable conflict. Yet we belong to the most cooperative species on the planet. Isn't there a way we can use this capacity to achieve greater harmony and equality between the sexes? In The War of the Sexes, Paul Seabright argues that there is--but first we must understand how the tension between conflict and cooperation developed in our remote evolutionary past, how it shaped the modern world, and how it still holds us back, both at home and at work. Drawing on biology, sociology, anthropology, and economics, Seabright shows that conflict between the sexes is, paradoxically, the product of cooperation. The evolutionary niche--the long dependent childhood--carved out by our ancestors requires the highest level of cooperative talent. But it also gives couples more to fight about. Men and women became experts at influencing one another to achieve their cooperative ends, but also became trapped in strategies of manipulation and deception in pursuit of sex and partnership. In early societies, economic conditions moved the balance of power in favor of men, as they cornered scarce resources for use in the sexual bargain. Today, conditions have changed beyond recognition, yet inequalities between men and women persist, as the brains, talents, and preferences we inherited from our ancestors struggle to deal with the unpredictable forces unleashed by the modern information economy. Men and women today have an unprecedented opportunity to achieve equal power and respect. But we need to understand the mixed inheritance of conflict and cooperation left to us by our primate ancestors if we are finally to escape their legacy.
Call Number: e-book

Montgomery County Commission for Women
Commission for Women: State of Maryland "The Maryland Commission for Women advises government, advances solutions, and serves as a statewide resource to expand social, political and economic opportunities for all women."
Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media "The Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media and its programming arm See Jane work with entertainment creators and companies, educate the next generation of content-creators, and inform the public about the need to increase the number of girls and women in media aimed at kids and to reduce stereotyping of both males and females."
National Museum of Women in the Arts The only museum in the world dedicated exclusively to recognizing the contributions of women artists.
Women's Knowledge Digital Library