Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA 8th Edition Citations: Articles

Tutorials & Tools

MLA Resources

MC Library Resources

Use a citation tool to create citations and bibliographies in various formats, including MLA and APA. Always check the citation to make sure it is accurate.

Need Help?

For help with finding articles & other sources, visit the MC Library or contact us online: 

For help with writing papers and creating citations, go to your campus Writing, Reading, & Language Center:

General Information

Articles from Databases:  In general, when you cite an article from a database, the format is the same as for a print article, with information added about how you accessed the source. If a permalink or DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is available, include either of those after the name of the database. If it is not, you may use the basic URL for the database home page. 

Abbreviating Months: When you include the month in the publication date or date of access, abbreviate to the first three letters (e.g., Dec.). May, June, & July do not need abbreviations.

Authors: For more than 3 authors, provide only the first author, followed by et al. For example: Wingert, Peter, et al.

Page Numbers: If an article is several continuous pages long, use inclusive page numbers (e.g., 21-23). If the article is several pages long but the pages are not continuous, use the first page number followed by a + sign (e.g., 14+). If no page numbers are available, but there are other markings (section titles, numbered paragraphs, etc.), include those. If there are no numbered or labeled pages or sections, do not include this element at all.

Journal Article

Use this format for articles found through one of the MC Library's databases. 


Format - Electronic (from Database)

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Year, p(p). Page #. Name of Database, DOI or Permalink or shortened database URL.

Example - Electronic (from Database)

North, Stephen. "The Idea of a Writing Center." College English, vol. 46, no. 5, 1984, pp. 433-446. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/377047.

Use this format for articles found freely on the web, not through one of the MC Library's databases.


Format - Online Journal Article

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Year, p(p). Page # (if available), URL.

Example - Online Journal Article

Thimann, Heidi. "Marginal Beings: Hybrids as the Other in Late Medieval Manuscripts." Hortulus, vol. 5, no. 1, 2009, hortulus-journal.com/journal/volume-5-number-1-2009/thimann/.

Format - Print

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article. Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Year, p(p). Page #.

Example - Print

Hallin, Daniel C. "Sound Bite News." Journal of Communication, vol. 42, no. 2, 2000, pp. 5-24.

Magazine Article

Use this format for articles found through one of the MC Library's databases.

You do not need to include the volume and issue number for magazines that are published monthly, every two months, weekly, or every two weeks. Give the date published instead.


Format - Electronic (from Database)

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Day Month Year, p(p). Page #. Name of Database, DOI or Permalink or shortened database URL.

Example - Electronic (from Database)

Clift, Eleanor. "When Women Said 'No.'" Newsweek, 31 Dec. 2012, pp. 44-50. Academic Search Complete, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=84583654&site=eds-live&scope=site.

Use this format for articles found freely on the web, not through one of the MC Library's databases.


Format - Online Magazine Article

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Publication Date (Day Month Year), URL.

Example - Online Magazine Article

"The Decline of the American Summer Job." Economist, 6 July 2017, www.economist.com/news/united-states/21724850-it-striking-how-often-self-made-americans-have-stories-tell-about-boring-summer.

Format - Print

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Day Month Year, p(p). Page #. 

Example - Print

Lavelle, Marianne. "Behind the Teen Birth Decline." U.S. News & World Report, 11 June 2008, p. 22. 

Newspaper Article

Use this format for articles found through one of the MC Library's databases.

If an article is several pages long but the pages are not continuous, use the first page number followed by a + sign (e.g., pp. 14+).


Format - Electronic (from Database)

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Newspaper Title, Day Month Year, Edition (if available), p(p). Page #. Name of Database, DOI or permalink or shortened database URL.

Example - Electronic (from Database)

Will, George. "A Health 'Reform' to Regret." Washington Post, 28 June 2009, final ed., p. A17. ProQuest Newspapers, search.proquest.com/docview/410321858?accountid=39773.

Use this format for articles found on the web, not through one of the MC Library's databases.


Format - Online Newspaper Article

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Date of Publication (Day Month Year), URL.

Example - Online Newspaper Article

Ruane, Michael. "Rare Tiger Cub Born at National Zoo." Washington Post, 11 July 2017, wapo.st/2u9dVuO?tid=ss_mail&utm_term=.91331eedc7c7.

Format - Print

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Day Month Year, Edition (if available), p(p). Page #. 

Example - Print

Hall, Trish. "IQ Scores Are Up." New York Times, 24 Feb. 2008, late ed., pp. F1+.