Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA 8th Edition Citations: Internet Sources

Tutorials & Tools

MLA Resources

MC Library Resources

Use a citation tool to create citations and bibliographies in various formats, including MLA and APA. Always check the citation to make sure it is accurate.

Need Help?

For help with finding articles & other sources, visit the MC Library or contact us online: 

For help with writing papers and creating citations, go to your campus Writing, Reading, & Language Center:

General Information

Internet sources can be difficult to cite because the information available is not consistent. When creating your citation, follow the guidelines and use as much information as you have. If information is not available, you may leave out that part of the citation. 

URL or Web Address: Copy the page URL from your web browser, but remove the http:// or https:// from the beginning. If a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is available for an online journal article, use that instead of a URL. 

Authors: For pages without an author, begin your citation with the title of the web page.

Webpage or Full Website

Citing a page, document, chapter, or section of a web site.


Format - Web Page

Last Name, First Name (if available). "Title of Page, Document, or Section." Title of Web Site, Publisher or Sponsor of site, Date of Publication, URL.

Example - Web Page with an Author

Welch, Ashley. "What Are the Symptoms of Zika Virus?" CBS News, CBS Interactive, 2 Aug. 2016, http://www.cbsnews.com/news/zika- virus-symptoms-how-do-you-know-if-youre-infected/.

Example - Web Page with No Author

"Underage Drinking." Medline Plus, U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health, 26 June 2017, medlineplus.gov/underagedrinking.html.

Citing an entire web site.


Format - Full Web Site

Last Name, First Name or Organization. Title of Web Site. Publisher of site (if different from author), Date of Publication or Update date, URL.

Example - Full Web Site

American Anthropological Association. 2016, http://www.americananthro.org/.

Online Articles

Use this format for articles found on the web, not through a database. For articles accessed through databases, see the Articles tab above.


Format - Online Journal Article

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Year, p(p). Page # (if available), URL.

Example - Online Journal Article

Thimann, Heidi. "Marginal Beings: Hybrids as the Other in Late Medieval Manuscripts." Hortulus, vol. 5, no. 1, 2009, hortulus-journal.com/journal/volume-5-number-1-2009/thimann/.

Use this format for articles found on the web, not through a database. For articles accessed through databases, see the Articles tab above.


Format - Online Magazine Article

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Publication Date (Day Month Year), URL.

Example - Online Magazine Article

"The Decline of the American Summer Job." Economist, 6 July 2017, www.economist.com/news/united-states/21724850-it-striking-how-often-self-made-americans-have-stories-tell-about-boring-summer.

Use this format for articles found on the web, not through a database. For articles accessed through databases, see the Articles tab above.


Format - Online Newspaper Article

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article."Title of Newspaper, Date of Publication (Day Month Year), URL.

Example - Online Newspaper Article

Ruane, Michael. "Rare Tiger Cub Born at National Zoo." Washington Post, 11 July 2017, wapo.st/2u9dVuO?tid=ss_mail&utm_term=.91331eedc7c7.

Online Video, Audio, & Streaming Media

Sponsor: Include only if different from the author or web site

Access Date: Include only if there is no date of publication or update date.


Format - Video or Audio from a Web site

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Video or Audio." Title of Web site, Sponsor, Date of Publication or Update Date, URL. Access Date.

Example - Video from a Web site

Robinson, Ken. "Do Schools Kill Creativity?"YouTube, TED Conferences, 6 Jan. 2007, youtu.be/iG9CE55wbtY.

Example - Audio from a Web site

Myre, Greg. "From Wristwatches To Radio, How World War I Ushered In The Modern World." WAMU, National Public Radio, 2 Apr. 2017,  wamu.org/story/17/04/02/from-wristwatches-to-radio-how-world-war-i-ushered-in-the-modern-world/.

Format - Film from a Database

Title of Video. Publisher, Publication Date. Title of Database, URL or permalink or DOI.

Example - Film from Database

Baltimore, Maryland, Part 1. Ford Motor Company, 1918. American History in Video, search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/2193659.

Format - TV Show from a Streaming Service

"Title of Episode." Title of TV Series, season #, episode #, Publisher, Publication Date. Title of Web site/streaming service, URL.

Example - TV Show Streaming Service

"The Dance of Dragons." Game of Thrones, season 5, episode 10, HBO, 7 June 2015. Amazon Video, a.co/d7atC9E.

Electronic Book (E-Book)

An e-book citation follows the same rules as a print book citation, with additional information about where it was accessed. If there are no page numbers, do not use device-specific numbers. Instead, use chapter or section headings if available.


Format - from web site or database

Title of Book. Publisher, Year. Title of database or website, DOI or permalink or database URL.

Example - from web site or database

Walsh, John. Emily Dickinson in Love: The Case for Otis Lord. Rutgers University Press, 2012. Project Muse, muse.jhu.edu/book/13760.

An e-book citation follows the same rules as a print book citation, with additional information about where it was accessed. If there are no page numbers, do not use device-specific numbers. Instead, use chapter or section headings if available. If you do not know the type of device (e.g., Kindle) or file (e.g., EPUB), use "e-book" instead.


Format - From an e-reader or app

Last Name, First Name. Title. Device ed. or e-book, Publisher, Year.

Example - From an e-reader or app

Rowling, J. K. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. Kindle ed., Arthur A. Levine Books, 1999.

Quirk, Tom. Mark Twain: A Study of the Short Fiction. e-book, Twayne Publishers, 1997.