Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA 8th Edition Citations: Other Sources

Tutorials & Tools

MLA Resources

MC Library Resources

Use a citation tool to create citations and bibliographies in various formats, including MLA and APA. Always check the citation to make sure it is accurate.

Need Help?

For help with finding articles & other sources, visit the MC Library or contact us online: 

For help with writing papers and creating citations, go to your campus Writing, Reading, & Language Center:

Government Document

There are many types of government documents, and the citation style may vary depending on the information available. This page provides some basic information on citing them. For more detail, consult the full MLA Handbook.


Format - No Author, Publisher Same as Agency

Title of Document. Name of Agency, Name of Department, Name of Government, Year.

Example - No Author, Publisher Same as Agency

Food Allergies: Reducing the Risks. Food and Drug Administration, Department of Health and Human Services, United States, 2009.

There are many types of government documents, and the citation style may vary depending on the information available. This page provides some basic information on citing them. For more detail, consult the full MLA Handbook.


Format - No Author, Publisher Different from Agency

Name of Government, Name of Department, Name of Agency. Title of Document. Publisher name, Year.

Example - No Author, Publisher Different from Agency

Canada, Ontario Ministry of Health. Selected Findings from the Mental Health Supplement of the Ontario Health Survey. Queen's Printer for Ontario, 1994.

There are many types of government documents, and the citation style may vary depending on the information available. This page provides some basic information on citing them. For more detail, consult the full MLA Handbook.


Format - No Author, Online

Name of Government, Name of Department, Name of Agency. Title of Document. Title of Web site, Date of publication or update date, URL.

Example - No Author, Online

United States, Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2009 H1N1 Flu. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 11 Aug. 2010, www.cdc.gov/h1n1flu/.

Motion Picture

You may include information about the screenwriter, director, performers, etc., but do not have to provide all of them (just what is relevant to your research).


Format

Title. Directed by Director Name, performances by Major Performer Names, Distributor, Year of Release.

Example

To Kill a Mockingbird. Directed by Robert Mulligan, performances by Robert Duvall and Gregory Peck, Universal, 1998.

Online Video, Audio, & Streaming Media

Sponsor: Include only if different from the author or web site

Access Date: Include only if there is no date of publication or update date.


Format - Video or Audio from a Web site

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Video or Audio." Title of Web site, Sponsor, Date of Publication or Update Date, URL. Access Date.

Example - Video from a Web site

Robinson, Ken. "Do Schools Kill Creativity?"YouTube, TED Conferences, 6 Jan. 2007, youtu.be/iG9CE55wbtY.

Example - Audio from a Web site

Myre, Greg. "From Wristwatches To Radio, How World War I Ushered In The Modern World." WAMU, National Public Radio, 2 Apr. 2017,  wamu.org/story/17/04/02/from-wristwatches-to-radio-how-world-war-i-ushered-in-the-modern-world/.

Format - Film from a Database

Title of Video. Publisher, Publication Date. Title of Database, URL or permalink or DOI.

Example - Film from Database

Baltimore, Maryland, Part 1. Ford Motor Company, 1918. American History in Video, search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/2193659.

Format - TV Show from a Streaming Service

"Title of Episode." Title of TV Series, season #, episode #, Publisher, Publication Date. Title of Web site/streaming service, URL.

Example - TV Show Streaming Service

"The Dance of Dragons." Game of Thrones, season 5, episode 10, HBO, 7 June 2015. Amazon Video, a.co/d7atC9E.

Electronic Book (E-Book)

An e-book citation follows the same rules as a print book citation, with additional information about where it was accessed. If there are no page numbers, do not use device-specific numbers. Instead, use chapter or section headings if available.


Format - from web site or database

Title of Book. Publisher, Year. Title of database or website, DOI or permalink or database URL.

Example - from web site or database

Walsh, John. Emily Dickinson in Love: The Case for Otis Lord. Rutgers University Press, 2012. Project Muse, muse.jhu.edu/book/13760.

An e-book citation follows the same rules as a print book citation, with additional information about where it was accessed. If there are no page numbers, do not use device-specific numbers. Instead, use chapter or section headings if available. If you do not know the type of device (e.g., Kindle) or file (e.g., EPUB), use "e-book" instead.


Format - From an e-reader or app

Last Name, First Name. Title. Device ed. or e-book, Publisher, Year.

Example - From an e-reader or app

Rowling, J. K. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. Kindle ed., Arthur A. Levine Books, 1999.

Quirk, Tom. Mark Twain: A Study of the Short Fiction. e-book, Twayne Publishers, 1997.