Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA 8th Edition Citations: Encyclopedias

Tutorials & Tools

MLA Resources

MC Library Resources

Use a citation tool to create citations and bibliographies in various formats, including MLA and APA. Always check the citation to make sure it is accurate.

Need Help?

For help with finding articles & other sources, visit the MC Library or contact us online: 

For help with writing papers and creating citations, go to your campus Writing, Reading, & Language Center:

Book Format with Author/Editor

More than 2 Authors: Provide the first author's name, followed by a comma and et al. (e.g., Vaughn, Samantha et al.)

No Author: Begin with the title of the encyclopedia entry. 


Format - General Encyclopedia

Last Name, First Name (if available). "Title of Encyclopedia Entry." Title of Encyclopedia, # ed. (edition), Publisher, Year.

Example - General Encyclopedia

"Japan." Webster's New World Encyclopedia. 9th ed., Prentice Hall, 1992.

More than 2 Authors: Provide the first author's name, followed by a comma and et al. (e.g., Vaughn, Samantha et al.)

No Author: Begin with the title of the encyclopedia entry.


Format - Specialized Encyclopedia

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Encyclopedia Entry." Title of Encyclopedia, edited by (Editor) First Name Last Name, # ed. (edition), vol. #, Publisher, Year.

Example - Specialized Encyclopedia

Swedberg, Richard. "Economic Sociology." Encyclopedia of Sociology, edited by Edgar Borgatta and Rhonda Montgomery, 2nd ed., vol. 2, Macmillan Reference USA, 2000.

Online Encyclopedia

Format - From a Database

Last Name, First Name (if available). "Title of Encyclopedia Entry." Title of Encyclopedia, # ed. (edition), Year. Name of Database. URL.

Example - From a Database

Wymand-Marchand, Tracy. "Kahlo, Frida (1907 - 1954)." Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice, 2007. Credo Reference, search.credoreference.com/content/topic/kahlo_frida_1907_1954.

Format - From the Internet

Last Name, First Name (if available). "Title of Encyclopedia Entry." Title of Encyclopedia, Year. Publisher or Sponsor or Web site (if different from author or encyclopedia title), URL.

Example - From the Internet

"Pompeii." Encyclopedia Britannica. 2016, www.britannica.com/place/Pompeii.