Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MLA 8th Edition Citations: Opposing Viewpoints

Tutorials & Tools

MLA Resources

MC Library Resources

Use a citation tool to create citations and bibliographies in various formats, including MLA and APA. Always check the citation to make sure it is accurate.

Need Help?

For help with finding articles & other sources, visit the MC Library or contact us online: 

For help with writing papers and creating citations, go to your campus Writing, Reading, & Language Center:

Viewpoints Essays

Listed under the "Viewpoints" category on the Opposing Viewpoints results list.

Viewpoints essays are reprinted articles, often with added commentary. Most students will use the full version of the article in Opposing Viewpoints. If so, cite it as an edited version of the article (with editor and book title, not the original author’s name).

If you do not use the commentary at all, you may cite it as a reprinted article.


Format - Entire Essay

"Opposing Viewpoints Essay Title." Title of Book, edited by (Editor) First Name Last Name, Publisher, Year, p(p). Page #. Name of Database, DOI or Permalink or URL.

Example - Entire Essay

"Teens Run Away to Gain Control of Their Lives." Street Teens, edited by Dedria Bryfonski. Greenhaven Press, 2012. Opposing Viewpoints in Context, montgomerycollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/ovic/.

Listed under the "Viewpoints" category on the Opposing Viewpoints results list.

Viewpoints essays are reprinted articles, often with added commentary. Most students will use the full version of the article in Opposing Viewpoints. If so, cite it as an edited version of the article (with editor and book title, not the original author’s name).

If you do not use the commentary at all, you may cite it as a reprinted article.


Format - Reprinted Article (not using commentary)

Original Author's Last Name, First Name. "Original Title of Article." Title of Book where Article was reprinted, edited by (Editor) First Name Last Name, Publisher, Year, p(p). Page # (if applicable). Name of Database, DOI or Permalink or URL.

Example - Reprinted Article (not using commentary)

Martinez, Ruby J. "Understanding Runaway Teens." Street Teens, edited by Dedria Bryfonski, Greenhaven Press, 2012. Opposing Viewpoints in Context, montgomerycollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/ovic/.

Magazine, Journal, and News Articles

Listed under the "Magazines" category on the Opposing Viewpoints results list.


Format - Magazine Article

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article."& Title of Magazine, Day Month Year, p(p). #. Name of Database, DOI or permalink or URL.

Example - Magazine Article

Begley, Sharon. "Good Cop/Bad Cop Goes Green." Newsweek 4 May 2009, p. 49. Opposing Viewpoints in Context, montgomerycollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/ovic/.

Listed under the "Academic Journals" category on the Opposing Viewpoints results list.


Format - Journal Article

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Year, p(p). Page #. Name of Database, DOI or Permalink or database URL.

Example - Journal Article

Bean, Michael. "Bipartisan Environmentalism." Issues in Science and Technology, vol. 24, no. 3, 2008, pp. 21+. Opposing Viewpoints in Context, montgomerycollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/ovic/.

Listed under the "News" category on the Opposing Viewpoints results list.


Format - News Article

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Day Month Year, Edition (if available), p(p). Page #. Name of Database, DOI or Permalink or database URL.

Example - News Article

Galbraith, Kate. "Here Comes the Sun. Right?" New York Times, 3 May 2009, p. 1(L). Opposing Viewpoints in Context, montgomerycollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/ovic.

Media (Audio & Video)

Format - Media

Last Name, First Name. "Title of Video or Audio." Publisher, Publication Date. Title of Database, URL or permalink or DOI.

Example - Media

"Two State Officials In Michigan Face Charges Over Flint Water Crisis." Morning Edition, 14 June 2017. Opposing Viewpoints in Context, montgomerycollege.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://link.galegroup.com/ic/ovic/.