MC Library Research Guides: ENGL 101 &amp; 011: Find Sources: ENGL 101/ENGL 011

Search Tools for ENGL 101

Find Sources

Your professor may have provided you with articles, websites, films, or other sources to use in your essay. Check your assignment carefully!

However, if you need to find additional sources, you can search the databases linked below for scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, and more.

Search for Sources for ENGL 101:

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
A complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Academic OneFile includes Expanded Academic ASAP.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
General reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Articles and graphics are selected from 2,000 domestic and international publications according to strict criteria with regard to content and age appropriateness.
ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A full-text, cross-searchable database of the newspaper collections of the Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. See also: Historical New York Times, Historical Washington Post, and Historical Wall Street Journal.
RaptorSearch This link opens in a new window
RaptorSearch allows you to find items located physically at the library along with most content that MC Library subscribes to online. Results may include articles from scholarly journals, books, e-books; videos and other media, newspaper articles, and more.

Research Skills & Tips:

Find Sources

This page will help you choose where and how to search for your sources. As you search, use the tips on this page to help you evaluate each source you find.