It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIST 116: World History to 1500, Prof. Rudin: HIST 116 Home
Humanities and Social Sciences Building (HS)
Find Background Information
Find background information about the island of Diego Garcia and the author of the book you have chosen by using any one of these collections of encyclopedias and other online books.
Credo ReferenceOnline reference library with a wide selection of reference books. Search or browse by subject. These titles are also accessible through the MC Library Catalog.
Gale eBooksA selected collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. For a current title list of our offerings, see the List of Sources once you are in the collection. These titles are also accessible through our online catalog. For information on how to use e-books on Gale, please see this helpful video.
Oxford Reference Online PremiumOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers over 300 fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press and a selection of partner publishers' scholarly works. Includes detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the Oxford Companions Series.
Encyclopaedia BritannicaEncyclopaedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
Gale in Context: BiographyBiography in Context is a comprehensive database of biographical information on over 340,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines more than 435,000 biographies from over 1,000 volumes of more than 135 respected Gale sources.
Gale Literature Resource CenterComprised of information found in Contemporary Authors Online, offering biographical coverage of more than 120,000 writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, featuring entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95; and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, containing more than 10,000 biocritical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars. It also includes selected full-text, excerpted, and commissioned critical material from Gale's Literature Criticism and For Students Series.