MC Library Research Guides: Teach Global Classrooms: Collaborative Online International Learning: Find Course Materials

Find Course Materials

Find Textbooks:
Through MC Library's textbook program, the library automatically purchases electronic (preferred) or print textbooks for MC courses that meet certain criteria. These textbooks are made available to students to borrow free of charge.

If your textbook was not purchased by the library as part of our textbook program, the library can still help you adopt a licensed or open textbook that your students can access for free.

Faculty Select
The Faculty Select platform allows MC faculty to find and adopt a licensed e-book or e-textbook, or an Open Educational Resource (OER), to use as their course text. It contains thousands of high-quality titles on a wide variety of academic subjects. Any item adopted as a course text through Faculty Select will be made available to you and your students completely free of cost.
Adopt E-Textbooks for Z-Courses
Learn more about the process of adopting a free textbook through Faculty Select.
List of OER Search Sites from ELITE
A list of places to search for quality OERs, including tips on searching. From ELITE.
Smithsonian Learning Lab
The Smithsonian Learning Lab puts the treasures of the world's largest museum, education, and research complex within reach. The Lab is a free, interactive platform for discovering millions of authentic digital resources, creating content with online tools, and sharing in the Smithsonian's expansive community of knowledge and learning.
World Digital Library
This collection contains cultural heritage materials gathered during the World Digital Library (WDL) project, including thousands of items contributed by partner organizations worldwide as well as content from Library of Congress collections.

Share Textbooks:
Whether the library has purchased your course textbook automatically through our textbook program or you have adopted an open or licensed textbook through Faculty Select, we will provide your students with free, seamless access to the item. If you adopted your OER through a source other than Faculty Select, you can contact our Collection Development Librarian, Beth Thoms (beth.thoms@montgomerycollege.edu), to request that we help you provide access to your students.

Students can access your e-textbook through the Library Course Reserves link in your Blackboard course menu. If available, they can use a print copy of your textbook at the library on the campus where the class is taught.

Find Books & E-Books:
You can make books and e-books from MC Library available to your students for free. Use the suggested resources below to locate the books and e-books you need.

RaptorSearch This link opens in a new window
Use RaptorSearch to find almost everything the library has to offer, including books on our shelves and e-books. Select source type: books on the advanced search screen or the results screen.

Book and E-Book Collections
Use an individual database to target your search. Many of our book & e-book databases focus on topics like humanities, medical disciplines, and more.

Share Books:
To share a print book with your students, you can request to place it on course reserve. Once the library has completed your request, the print book will be held behind the library service desk on the campus where your course is offered. Your students can use the book in the library for two hours at a time. Use the link below to learn how to place your request.

Share E-Books:
To share an e-book with your students, you will need to provide them with a persistent link that will not break over time. Use the link below to learn how to properly link to library e-resources.

If you prefer the library to do the linking for you, you can request to place the item on e-reserve. Once the library has completed your request, your students will be able to access the item through the Library Course Reserves link in your Blackboard course menu. Use the link below to learn how to place your request.

Find Articles:
You can make articles from MC Library available to your students for free. Use the suggested resources below to locate the articles you need.

RaptorSearch This link opens in a new window
Use RaptorSearch to find almost everything the library has to offer, including articles. Select source type: articles on the advanced search screen or the results screen.

Article Collections
Use an individual database to target your search. Use the dropdown menu at the top of the page to further narrow the list by subject.

A to Z The World This link opens in a new window
A to Z The World contains information about world history, cultures, languages, foods, and religions, with 174 Country Culture Guides featuring country specific information on education, business, history, holidays and festivals, languages, weather, security issues, and national symbols.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contains over 830,000 full-text articles from 240 publications. Covers 1990 to present.
Ethnologue : Languages of the World This link opens in a new window
Ethnologue contains information on over 7,000 known living languages, organized by world area, UN region, and country.
Europa World of Learning This link opens in a new window
Contains full directory details for 36,000 entries including over 14,000 universities and colleges, 4,000 libraries and archives, 5,000 learned societies, 6,500 research institutes, and 4,900 museums and art galleries. There is coverage for more than 225 countries and territories throughout the world, and for 600 international organizations.
International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest International Newsstand provides full-text articles from more than 660 of the world's newspapers.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazines along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos. This Virtual Library includes: National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994; National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1995-Current; National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World; and National Geographic Kids.
World Folklore and Folklife This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary resource of the world's folklore and folklife, touching on topics of literature, social and religious practices, history, art, music, and languages.
World Religions This link opens in a new window
Covers matters of belief, practice, celebrations, and holidays; important individuals and events; significant and sacred places; and more for over 50 world religions. Contains both reference and primary source materials.

Share Articles:
To share an article with your students, you will need to provide them with a persistent link that will not break over time. Use the link below to learn how to properly link to library e-resources.

Find Videos & Media:
You can make videos and media from MC Library available to your students for free. The library's collections include streaming audio and video and DVDs, CDs, and audiobooks. Use the suggested resources below to locate the items you need.

RaptorSearch This link opens in a new window
Use RaptorSearch to find almost everything the library has to offer, including video and audio. Select source type: video or audio on the results screen.

Streaming Video Collections
Use an individual video database to target your search. Many of our video databases focus on subjects like theater or health.
Streaming Audio Collections
Use an individual audio database to target your search. Many of our audio databases focus on subjects like music or environmental studies.

Share DVDs, CDs, and Audiobooks:
To share a DVD, CD, or audiobook with your students, you can request to place it on course reserve. Once the library has completed your request, the item will be held behind the library service desk on the campus where your course is offered. Your students can use the item in the library for two hours at a time. Use the link below to learn how to place your request.

Share Streaming Media:
To share streaming media with your students, you will need to provide them with a persistent link that will not break over time. Use the link below to learn how to properly link to library e-resources.

Find Images:
The library's collections includes images to support course content. Use the suggested resources below to locate the items you need.

AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
AP Images is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. Browse AP's comprehensive archive with millions of images in entertainment, sports, news, archival and creative content.
Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains over 2 million images and documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures, embracing architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture.
Britannica ImageQuest This link opens in a new window
Curriculum-relevant imagery and clip art materials (infographics, signs and symbols, graphic concepts) from 60 leading collections, including the Bridgeman Art Gallery, Getty Images, Ingram Publishing, and the National Geographic Society. All images are rights-cleared for educational, non-commercial use.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazines along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos. This Virtual Library includes: National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994; National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1995-Current; National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World; and National Geographic Kids.

Ask The Library

	Text: 240-654-1728
	Chat with a Librarian
	Book an Appointment
	Call or Visit the Library

View our online service hours.