MC Library Research Guides: Teach the Holocaust: Find Course Materials

Find Course Materials

Find Textbooks:
Through MC Library's textbook program, the library automatically purchases electronic (preferred) or print textbooks for MC courses that meet certain criteria. These textbooks are made available to students to borrow free of charge.

If your textbook was not purchased by the library as part of our textbook program, the library can still help you adopt a licensed or open textbook that your students can access for free.

Faculty Select
The Faculty Select platform allows MC faculty to find and adopt a licensed e-book or e-textbook, or an Open Educational Resource (OER), to use as their course text. It contains thousands of high-quality titles on a wide variety of academic subjects. Any item adopted as a course text through Faculty Select will be made available to you and your students completely free of cost.
Adopt E-Textbooks for Z-Courses
Learn more about the process of adopting a free textbook through Faculty Select.
List of OER Search Sites from ELITE
A list of places to search for quality OERs, including tips on searching. From ELITE.

Share Textbooks:
Whether the library has purchased your course textbook automatically through our textbook program or you have adopted an open or licensed textbook through Faculty Select, we will provide your students with free, seamless access to the item. If you adopted your OER through a source other than Faculty Select, you can contact our Collection Development Librarian, Beth Thoms (beth.thoms@montgomerycollege.edu), to request that we help you provide access to your students.

Students can access your e-textbook through the Library Course Reserves link in your Blackboard course menu. If available, they can use a print copy of your textbook at the library on the campus where the class is taught.

Find Books & E-Books:
You can make books and e-books from MC Library available to your students for free. Use the suggested resources below to locate the books and e-books you need.

RaptorSearch This link opens in a new window
Use RaptorSearch to find almost everything the library has to offer, including books on our shelves and e-books. Select source type: books on the advanced search screen or the results screen.
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
The ACLS Humanities E-Book Project is a collaboration of thirty-one learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and the Michigan Publishing division at the University of Michigan Library. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in history, recommended and reviewed by historians and featuring unlimited multi-user access. These titles are also accessible through RaptorSearch.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 30,000 eBooks and 600 journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences from 100 scholarly publishers.

Book and E-Book Collections
Use an individual database to target your search. Many of our book & e-book databases focus on topics like humanities, medical disciplines, and more.

Share Books:
To share a print book with your students, you can request to place it on course reserve. Once the library has completed your request, the print book will be held behind the library service desk on the campus where your course is offered. Your students can use the book in the library for two hours at a time. Use the link below to learn how to place your request.

Share E-Books:
To share an e-book with your students, you will need to provide them with a persistent link that will not break over time. Use the link below to learn how to properly link to library e-resources.

If you prefer the library to do the linking for you, you can request to place the item on e-reserve. Once the library has completed your request, your students will be able to access the item through the Library Course Reserves link in your Blackboard course menu. Use the link below to learn how to place your request.

Find Articles:
You can make articles from MC Library available to your students for free. Use the suggested resources below to locate the articles you need.

RaptorSearch This link opens in a new window
Use RaptorSearch to find almost everything the library has to offer, including articles. Select source type: articles on the advanced search screen or the results screen.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present analysis of issues - social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural - and headlines in world hot spots.
Gale In Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Covers world history, including some full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, primary sources, images, maps & charts for the study of world history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes archives of nearly three thousand academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and related titles; the most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available.

Article Collections
Use an individual database to target your search. Use the dropdown menu at the top of the page to further narrow the list by subject.

Share Articles:
To share an article with your students, you will need to provide them with a persistent link that will not break over time. Use the link below to learn how to properly link to library e-resources.

Find Videos & Media:
You can make videos and media from MC Library available to your students for free. The library's collections include streaming audio and video and DVDs, CDs, and audiobooks. Use the suggested resources below to locate the items you need.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of streaming video titles in the Academic Master collection from a variety of publishers including Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, Film Board of Canada, and many more. New titles added monthly. These titles are also accessible through RaptorSearch.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
TIP: Use Chrome or Firefox when accessing videos for best viewing experience. Collection of streaming videos in all genres - from documentaries to movies to training videos.
Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains over 2 million images and documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures, embracing architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture.
RaptorSearch This link opens in a new window
Use RaptorSearch to find almost everything the library has to offer, including video and audio. Select source type: video or audio on the results screen.

Streaming Video Collections
Use an individual video database to target your search. Many of our video databases focus on subjects like theater or health.
Streaming Audio Collections
Use an individual audio database to target your search. Many of our audio databases focus on subjects like music or environmental studies.

Share DVDs, CDs, and Audiobooks:
To share a DVD, CD, or audiobook with your students, you can request to place it on course reserve. Once the library has completed your request, the item will be held behind the library service desk on the campus where your course is offered. Your students can use the item in the library for two hours at a time. Use the link below to learn how to place your request.

Share Streaming Media:
To share streaming media with your students, you will need to provide them with a persistent link that will not break over time. Use the link below to learn how to properly link to library e-resources.

Find Primary Sources:

In addition to Holocaust survivor testimonies linked on the other page of this guide, you can make primary sources from MC Library available to your students for free. The library's collections include historical newspapers, archival video, images, etc.

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Includes 2,000 total hours of streaming video content and more than 5,000 titles. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Historical New York Times (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
Includes full text from the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times from 1857 to 2020. For current New York Times articles, use the ProQuest Newspapers database.
Historical Washington Post (1877-2007) This link opens in a new window
Articles from the Washington Post and the Times Herald from 1877 to 2007. For current articles from the Washington Post, use the ProQuest Newspapers database.

Historical Newspapers: The American Israelite Coverage: 1854 - 2000; Part of the ProQuest Primary Sources Collection
Historical Newspapers: Jerusalem Post Coverage: 1932 - 2008; Part of the ProQuest Primary Sources Collection
Historical Newspapers: Jewish Advocate Coverage: 1905 - 1990; Part of the ProQuest Primary Sources Collection
Historical Newspapers: Jewish Exponent Coverage: 1887 - 1990; Part of the ProQuest Primary Source Collection
History Vault: Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961 During World War II and the first decade and a half of the Cold War, the Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and the State Department assigned leading scholars to write special, classified reports about Asia, Europe, the Soviet Union, Latin America, and Africa. History Vault provides access to these reports, from 1941 to 1961. Part of the ProQuest Primary Sources Collection

Suggested Learning Tools:

The MC Library provides tutorials and skills-related guides to assist students. There are a variety of ways to assign tutorials and other content to your students. For details, see the "Tutorials, Videos, & Quizzes" link below, and contact a librarian if you need assistance.

Identify Different Types of Information Sources
by Niyati Pandya Last Updated Aug 28, 2024 988 views this year

Tutorials, Videos, and Quizzes
You can assign your students online tutorials, videos, and quizzes or embed these items in your Blackboard courses. Many tutorials and videos also have quizzes that allow automatic grading in Blackboard.

Show/Hide Infographic Text

Highlighted Sources

Understanding and Teaching the Holocaust Few topics in modern history draw the attention that the Holocaust does. The Shoah has become synonymous with unspeakable atrocity and unbearable suffering. Yet it has also been used to teach tolerance, empathy, resistance, and hope. Understanding and Teaching the Holocaust provides a starting point for teachers in many disciplines to illuminate this crucial event in world history for students.

Ask The Library

	Text: 240-654-1728
	Chat with a Librarian
	Book an Appointment
	Call or Visit the Library

View our online service hours.