MC Library Research Guides: Teach China: Resources from MC Library

Additional Databases

Some content is not searchable through RaptorSearch, but is available through individual library databases. Additional content may be easier to find by going directly to a subject-specific database.

Selected Databases:

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Contains over 830,000 full-text articles from 240 publications. Covers 1990 to present.
Ethnologue : Languages of the World This link opens in a new window
Ethnologue contains information on over 7,000 known living languages, organized by world area, UN region, and country.
International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest International Newsstand provides full-text articles from more than 660 of the world's newspapers.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazines along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos. This Virtual Library includes: National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994; National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1995-Current; National Geographic: People, Animals, and the World; and National Geographic Kids.
World Folklore and Folklife This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary resource of the world's folklore and folklife, touching on topics of literature, social and religious practices, history, art, music, and languages.
World Religions This link opens in a new window
Covers matters of belief, practice, celebrations, and holidays; important individuals and events; significant and sacred places; and more for over 50 world religions. Contains both reference and primary source materials.

Databases by Subject

Streaming Video & Images

Streaming Video

Academic Video Online Premium This link opens in a new window
This resource has over 65,000 video titles in subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. Video types include documentaries, feature films, interviews, performances, and news programs among others.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of streaming video titles in the Academic Master collection from a variety of publishers including Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, Film Board of Canada, and many more. New titles added monthly. These titles are also accessible through RaptorSearch.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
TIP: Use Chrome or Firefox when accessing videos for best viewing experience. Collection of streaming videos in all genres - from documentaries to movies to training videos.

Images

AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
AP Images is one of the world's largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. Browse AP's comprehensive archive with millions of images in entertainment, sports, news, archival and creative content.
Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains over 2 million images and documents artistic traditions across many times and cultures, embracing architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture.

Highlighted Sources

Modern China: a Very Short Introduction China today is never out of the news: from human rights controversies and the continued legacy of Tiananmen Square, to global coverage of the Beijing Olympics, and the Chinese 'economic miracle'. This 'Very Short Introduction' provides an accessible guide to why China looks the way it does today, and how it got there.

Library Research Guide: RaptorSearch

RaptorSearch is an integrated searching tool that finds items owned or licensed by the MC Library. The following guide explains how to search it effectively to retrieve relevant results in various formats.

Find Books and Other Sources in RaptorSearch
by Niyati Pandya Last Updated Aug 28, 2024 1980 views this year

How to Cite Your Sources

Cite Sources
by Niyati Pandya Last Updated Sep 6, 2024 10752 views this year

Create a Works Cited Page in MS Word (PDF - 642KB)

MC Library's Academic Integrity and Avoiding Plagiarism Tutorial

Copyright

While educational institutions enjoy some benefits under the principles of Fair Use, it is still important to understand how to ethically and legally use information resources in the classroom. Use the guide below to learn more.

Use Copyrighted Materials in the Classroom
by Christopher Verdak Last Updated Sep 4, 2024 525 views this year

Ask The Library

	Text: 240-654-1728
	Chat with a Librarian
	Book an Appointment
	Call or Visit the Library

View our online service hours.