MC Library Research Guides: ENGL 102 &amp; 103: Professor Robinson

United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (UNSDG)

This guide has been developed to address the research needs of the project-based learning and innovative business proposal focusing on the 17 United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (UNSDG).

The 17 Goals

Suggested Sources: UNSDG

RaptorSearch This link opens in a new window
RaptorSearch allows you to find items located physically at the library along with most content that MC Library subscribes to online. Results may include articles from scholarly journals, books, e-books; videos and other media, newspaper articles, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc..
Biological Science Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text journal articles, abstracts, and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive career research database, providing detailed and up-to-date profiles of more than 2,900 of today's most popular jobs in 93 industries.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete offers coverage in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles). The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals and 120 monographs.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Academic OneFile includes Expanded Academic ASAP.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more. Integrates case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more. The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including water privatization, ecotourism, and air pollution, green economy.
Gale OneFile: Vocations And Careers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and other formats. Appropriate for researchers at all levels, this consumer health resource provides information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch indexes over 200 scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters, newspapers, and ebooks on the evolution of gender roles as they affect men and women. Includes some full-text.
Nature This link opens in a new window
Online edition of the weekly international science journal with archives going back to 1869.
ScienceDirect Elsevier Science Journals This link opens in a new window
Online access to Elsevier journal subscriptions in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.

The primary source tutorial video is a pre-assessment and introduces the purpose and characteristics of primary sources to help students identify the most appropriate type of source for their research needs. The primary source tutorial provides a post-assessment for student to see where they may need clarification in understanding primary sources and use.

Copyright law assigns creators control over their creative work. Use of copyrighted work requires permission from the creator. Creative Commons (CC) works within copyright law. CC allows creators to grant permission worldwide to anyone to use their work.

Learn About Copyright
by Niyati Pandya Last Updated Apr 5, 2024 239 views this year

Share Your Work with Creative Commons
by Christopher Verdak Last Updated Oct 11, 2023 49 views this year

Creative Commons (Share Your Work) CC is an international nonprofit organization that empowers people to grow and sustain the thriving commons of shared knowledge and culture we need to address the world’s most pressing challenges and create a brighter future for all.

Utilizing an annotated bibliography allows the student to continually digest information gained from resources well beyond the limitations set by the course term parameters. The annotated bibliography helps students to think critically about how selected resources support their research.

Create an Annotated Bibliography
by Niyati Pandya Last Updated Sep 6, 2023 179 views this year

ENGL 103 OER Annotated Bibliography

Websites

United Nations Sustainable Development Goals Videos Videos by UNStats
Digital Learning Centers Offers online user support with a variety of common student use applications including: Microsoft Word - (Proposal) Microsoft Power Point - (Audio Pitch, Alt Text, and Image descriptors)
Image Galleries This is a list of media galleries with free to use photos, illustrations and videos. The galleries are categorized by type of media and provide licensing details for each collection.