MC Library Research Guides: ENGL 102 &amp; 103: Professor Johnson

Recommended Sources

DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new window
Access to the DSM-5, the newest revision of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. This subscription also includes the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and Guia de consulta del DSM-5.
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
Flipster This link opens in a new window
Online access to popular magazines via the web or your mobile device. To download issues to your iOS or Android device, access Flipster via your mobile browser and then choose "Open in App" from the Options menu. Issues can be downloaded directly from the app by choosing "MONTGOMERY COLLEGE ROCKVILLE LIBRARY" through the "Find My Library" search tool.
Gale Books and Authors This link opens in a new window
Reader’s advisory database with browse functionality, reviews, award winners and themed book lists, and more to help you find your next book to read.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A selected collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. For a current title list of our offerings, see the List of Sources once you are in the collection. These titles are also accessible through RaptorSearch. For information on how to use e-books on Gale, please see this helpful video.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context is a comprehensive database of biographical information on over 340,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines more than 435,000 biographies from over 1,000 volumes of more than 135 respected Gale sources.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
A complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Academic Video Online Premium This link opens in a new window
This resource has over 65,000 video titles in subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more. Video types include documentaries, feature films, interviews, performances, and news programs among others.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Includes 2,000 total hours of streaming video content and more than 5,000 titles. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
A collection of major studio motion pictures, available for individual viewing or in-class use only (no public performances). Mac users, please note, access to movies via Safari is not supported. Please use the latest versions of Chrome or Firefox.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre+ is the world’s leading educational platform for the performing arts with unlimited access to over 1,000 full-length productions and educational resources.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of streaming video titles in the Academic Master collection from a variety of publishers including Films for the Humanities & Sciences, PBS, Film Board of Canada, and many more. New titles added monthly. These titles are also accessible through RaptorSearch.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
TIP: Use Chrome or Firefox when accessing videos for best viewing experience. Collection of streaming videos in all genres - from documentaries to movies to training videos.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc..
Criminology Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This collection supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as law enforcement and security services. It includes the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database, with further index and full-text coverage of scholarly journals. It also includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other relevant material for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, and related fields.
Poetry & Short Story Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Selected works of major and minor American and English poets, along with international poetry with representation from each continent (accompanied by English translations, when available). Includes Critical Survey of Poetry and Critical Survey of Short Fiction, over 712,000 full-text poems, both classic and contemporary, over 53,000 full-text short stories, both classic and contemporary, and 11,000 dramatic works.
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
Digital library of information on American and world popular culture. This database can be searched or browsed by decade starting with the 1920's and moving up to the 2000's.
World Folklore and Folklife This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary resource of the world's folklore and folklife, touching on topics of literature, social and religious practices, history, art, music, and languages.