It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIST 114 & HIST 117: World in the 20th Century & World History 1500 - Present, Prof. James Furgol: HIST 114 & HIST 117 - General Information & Primary Sources
Gale eBooksA selected collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. For a current title list of our offerings, see the List of Sources once you are in the collection. These titles are also accessible through our online catalog. For information on how to use e-books on Gale, please see this helpful video.
Credo ReferenceOnline reference library with a wide selection of reference books. Search or browse by subject. These titles are also accessible through the MC Library Catalog.
Oxford Reference Online PremiumOxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers over 300 fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press and a selection of partner publishers' scholarly works. Includes detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the Oxford Companions Series.
Gale Literature Resource CenterComprised of information found in Contemporary Authors Online, offering biographical coverage of more than 120,000 writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, featuring entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95; and Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, containing more than 10,000 biocritical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars. It also includes selected full-text, excerpted, and commissioned critical material from Gale's Literature Criticism and For Students Series.
African American Historical Serials CollectionFeatures 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922. The periodicals in this collection include newspapers and magazines, in addition to reports and annuals from various African American organizations, including churches and educational and service institutions.
American History in VideoAmerican History in Video provides a large collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Historical New York Times (1851-2016)Includes full text from the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times from 1857 to 2013. For current New York Times articles, use the ProQuest Newspapers database.
Historical Washington Post (1877-2000)Articles from the Washington Post and the Times Herald from 1877 to 2000. For current articles from the Washington Post, use the ProQuest Newspapers database.
Smithsonian Collections OnlineIncludes access to the Air & Space and Smithsonian Magazine Archive (including current issues), as well as digitized primary source materials from the Smithsonian Institution in two collections -- Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry & World's Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow.