MC Library Research Guides: Find Books and Other Sources in RaptorSearch: Find Books and Other Sources in RaptorSearch

All About RaptorSearch

When should I use RaptorSearch?

RaptorSearch is useful for a variety of tasks that can be more difficult with other searches:

As a starting place for your research
If you need to quickly retrieve high quality items on a particular topic
- Example: "I need three good sources on [fill-in-the-blank]"
If you are interested in interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary research
- Example: "I'm looking for information about how global warming is affecting the health of populations in developing countries."
If you know the citation of an item and just want to get that article
- Example: "My professor asked me to get all the articles that are listed in this bibliography."

How do I use RaptorSearch?

Enter short phrases or keywords into the search box. Once you're on the RaptorSearch platform, there are many more options to help filter your results on the left column of the search results screen. You can also refine your initial search by clicking Advanced Search.

You can also access RaptorSearch directly from the Research drop down menu from the top of the library's homepage:

Image showing how to access RaptorSearch from the Research top menu

How do I cite articles I find in RaptorSearch?

Since RaptorSearch is not a database itself but rather a search tool that finds content in other databases and resources, we recommend that you should cite articles based on the source repository that the article comes from. RaptorSearch will generate a citation from the citation icon in the Cite and Share section of the detailed record. Verify that the generated citation is correct and includes all necessary information for your style and item! If you do not find all the information needed to complete a citation when you click on the "Citation" icon in the Cite and Share section, access the full text of the article/item from the detailed record and add those details into the citation manually.

RaptorSearch Content

What is Included in RaptorSearch?

RaptorSearch includes much of the information that you can access through the MC Library such as books, e-books, streaming audio and video, and DVDs and CDs as well as articles and other electronic resources from databases available through the library. Content from most of MC Library's subscribed databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete, Gale in Context) can also be found in RaptorSearch. Newspaper articles from sources like the New York Times and the Washington Post can be accessed from RaptorSearch. Use the Newspaper Articles top menu link or select Newspaper Articles from the Source Type filter to locate articles from these kinds of publications.

What if I still want to search individual databases?

RaptorSearch is not replacing our existing databases. You can still access any database we subscribe to from the A-Z List of Databases. Sometimes going directly to a database will produce better results, as you can be more precise in choosing a resource on a particular subject, or take advantage of tools specific to a resource, like "Browse Issues" in Opposing Viewpoints.