MC Library Research Guides: ENGL 102 &amp; 103: Develop a Topic

Find Background Information

Background information helps you learn about aspects of a topic that might interest you.

The best way to complete your background research is with reference sources like encyclopedias and dictionaries. They provide basic information and broad overviews of a wide variety of topics.

MC Library has reference sources both online and in print. Take a few minutes to read broadly about your topic using the suggested sources listed below or visit your campus library for help using print reference sources.

Search:

SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window General reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Articles and graphics are selected from 2,000 domestic and international publications according to strict criteria with regard to content and age appropriateness.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present analysis of issues - social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural - and headlines in world hot spots.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
CQ Magazine This link opens in a new window Comprehensive source for coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, backroom maneuvering, and in-depth reports on issues on the congressional horizon.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window A selected collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. For a current title list of our offerings, see the List of Sources once you are in the collection. These titles are also accessible through RaptorSearch. For information on how to use e-books on Gale, please see this helpful video.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window A complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Online reference library with a wide selection of reference books. Search or browse by subject. These titles are also accessible through RaptorSearch.

Research Skills & Tips:

Planning for Research Worksheet (PDF)

Choose a Research Topic
by Niyati Pandya Last Updated Oct 9, 2023 871 views this year

Explore A Research Topic with Opposing Viewpoints
How to Narrow Your Topic Video
Framing a Problem Video will require MC login (M + ID number)
Searching as Exploration Video
Global Citizenship Video
Introduction to Cultural Issues Video

Social and Racial Justice
by Jenny Hatleberg Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 238 views this year

Develop a Topic

To choose a research topic, begin with general background information. This will help you explore topics of interest, develop research questions and search terms, and decide where to look for sources.